V8 JavaScript Engine – by Google

September 11, 2008

About V8
  • V8 is Google’s open source JavaScript engine.
  • V8 is written in C++ and is used in Google Chrome, the open source browser from Google.
  • V8 implements ECMAScript as specified in ECMA-262, 3rd edition, and runs on Windows XP and Vista, Mac OS X 10.5 (Leopard), and Linux systems that use IA-32 or ARM processors.
  • V8 can run standalone, or can be embedded into any C++ application

V8 is a new JavaScript engine specifically designed for fast execution of large JavaScript applications. In several benchmark tests, V8 is many times faster than JScript (in Internet Explorer), SpiderMonkey (in Firefox), and JavaScriptCore (in Safari). If your web application is bound by JavaScript execution speed, using V8 instead of your current JavaScript engine is likely to improve your application’s performance. How big the improvement is depends on how much JavaScript is executed and the nature of that JavaScript. For example, if the functions in your application tend to be run again and again, the performance improvement will be greater than if many different functions tend to run only once.

There are three key areas to V8’s performance:

5 Responses to “V8 JavaScript Engine – by Google”

  1. Carolann Says:

    This is a message to the webmaster. Your website is missing out on at least 300 visitors per day. I have found a company which offers to dramatically increase your traffic to your site: http://voxseo.com/traffic/ They offer 1,000 free visitors during their free trial period and I managed to get over 30,000 visitors per month using their services, you could also get lot more targeted visitors than you have now. Hope this helps 🙂 Take care.

  2. Verlene Says:

    I have read so many posts on the topic of the blogger
    lovers but this paragraph is truly a nice article, keep iit
    up.

  3. poker158 Says:

    I have been exploring for a bit for any high quality articles
    or weblog posts on this sort of space . Exploring in Yahoo I
    finally stumbled upon this site. Studying this information So i am happy to exhibit that I have a
    very excellent uncanny feeling I found out just
    what I needed. I such a lot for sure will make sure to don?t omit
    this web site and give it a glance regularly.


  4. My relatives always say that I am wasting my time here
    at web, but I know I am getting familiarity every day by reading
    thes good articles.

  5. Matthew Says:

    Therefore investigation can be an significant portion to get a person to choose a
    superb one before they pieces his base with this opportunity.


Leave a comment